Tanking for Dummies


Quality Scrap
March 30, 2009, 12:01 am
Filed under: Lists | Tags: ,

honest_scrap1

Perhaps I am displaying a soft spot for flattery, but I have been nominated for the Honest Scrap Award meme by Mrs. Spinks of Spinksville.  I would thank the Academy and my Mom, but they really don’t have anything to do with this so I think I will stick with thanking Spinks for her appreciation of my anachronistic and crude humor.  For the record, most of the scrap comes from the pockets of gnomes who are constantly gnawing and stabbing at my ankles – so it’s honest, just slightly bloody.

I am lead to believe the rules of this meme are:

  1. When accepting this auspicious award, you must write a post bragging about it, including the name of the misguided soul who thinks you deserve such acclaim, and link back to the said person so everyone knows she/he is real. (Check!)
  2. Choose a minimum of seven (7) blogs that you find brilliant in content or design. Or improvise by including bloggers who have no idea who you are because you don’t have seven friends. Show the seven random victims’ names and links and leave a harassing comment informing them that they were prized with Honest Weblog. Well, there’s no prize, but they can keep the nifty icon. (This is beginning to sound like a chain letter.  Or a Venearial Disease.)
  3. List at least ten (10) honest things about yourself. Then pass it on! (Crap, I knew there was a catch!)

So, next up finding seven blogs that haven’t been infected tagged already.

The Casual Tank – Billy! How is it going man?  Billy Wallace has the distinction of being my favorite blogger to tag.  He also has the distinction of being the most honestly casual tank blogger I’ve seen (as the name suggests), which is refreshing considering how unapologetically hardcore most of us are.  Billy provides perspective, capice?  His honest scrap is fresh.

Tank Like a Girl – Kadomi was the first blog I decided to read because of her approach to content which is both accessable and well written.  She has her own distinctive voice, and well, gave me an appreciation for the fact that a tanking blog need not necessarily always be about tanking as much as it be from the tank’s perspective.  She also plays orc females, which totally rocks.

Tankette’s Rambles – What I like about Tankette is that it is less a tanking blog and more of a tanking diary.  Her real life has been getting in the way of her writing recently, but I still check her every day because her posts are enviously fascinating.  Her minimalist interface also inspired my approach to design with Tanking for Dummies.  Negative space is awesome.

Mirror Shield – Yakra runs a real tank blogger’s tank blog (try saying that ten times fast!).  His posts are sharp and precise, and his regular guides to doing some of the harder raid achievements should be essential reading for all raid tanks.  The Dwarf has some serious gumption.

World of Warcraft, eh? – Real beer.  Real bears.  Real Awesome.  The capacity for both a comic and a blog combined rocks my socks.  Also, being an American, I have a special place in my heart for Canada, who provides most of my oil and a safe place to run to in case my government decides to get some crazy ideas about how we need to invade the Russians.

Achtung Panzercow – Tauren Warrior Tank pride.  Linedan is kinda like Tarsus’ long lost third cousin once removed.  It’s always good to know you’re not alone in the world.  Also home of the rapidly growing warior tank leveling guide and the lolipop of death.

Need More Rage – Ratshag is my hero of teh funny.  Seriously.  He must be the funniest orc on the internet.  If I was that funny, well, I would totally be as awesome as he is.  But I’m not.

And now I present… Ten things that are totally true about the man behind the cow.

  1. I am totally married IRL to Joveta of World of Snarkcraft.  ZOMG.
  2. Now that it is warming up again, I can go back to my regular habit of wearing kilts to places that are not celtic festivals or highland games.
  3. I cut my teeth as a gamer at the tender age of 5 on “Rogue” which came pre-loaded on the Monochrome PC Clone my Uncle gave my family when my youngest sister was born.
  4. I am a compulsive pen and paper (and LARP when I get the chance) RPG player.  Currently I’m playing Mage, Fading Suns, and running Call of Cthulhu.
  5. I am currently looking for a job.  My primary career background is in pedagogy, administration, and tech support.
  6. I’m a beer snob.
  7. My parents tell me they thought I was going to become a Benedictine Monk.
  8. I have been to more foreign nations than I have been to American States.
  9. I am the cook in my household.  They even tell me I’m pretty good at it.
  10. I have made my own chainmail shirt, and have the permanent damage to my wrists to prove it.
4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thank you for your kind words, honestly. I often struggle with blogging because it’s not easy being a casual player with a hardcore attitude, coming up with new content is hard. Knowing that even silly recaps of my casual weekends are appreciated makes me happy.

Comment by Kadomi

@ Kadomi – I know what you mean. I honestly don’t play that many hours a week for the amount of introspection that goes into blogging about WoW. That said, I think having 4 years now of warrior tanking experience (and stupidity) I draw on to help fill in the gaps. Blogging about mistakes is sometimes hard, but I think it’s produced some of my better (or at least funnier) posts.

Comment by Tarsus

Award noted! Thanks for your kind words.

I’ll do my best to work in said required post ASAP.

Comment by Yakra

@Yakra – No rush. I know that you were dealing with some real life stuff last week and you deserve the “props” regardless.

Comment by Tarsus




Leave a Reply

