Tanking for Dummies


Trials of being a Part-Time Raider
May 11, 2009, 12:01 am
Filed under: Raiding | Tags: , , ,

As I have alluded to many times in this space I don’t get too much raiding action these days.  In fact, I get on WoW maybe once or twice a week.  Ironically, I probably spend more time writing for Tanking for Dummies in an average week than I do playing.

What can I say?  There is a lot of stuff going on in my head that I want to share.

Needless to say, Axiom is not a casual raiding guild.  So where does that leave me?  There are some unique challenges to being part time.

1. Time Management – If I only have one or two nights of playtime a week, invariably this leads to a certain amount of prioritizing.  Do I, or do I not, spend hours of my previous time doing dailies to insure that I have money to raid this week?  I like to make sure I have a cushion.  After all, I can burn through 200 gold in a night of progression raiding.  This is definately not for the weak of heart.  This will only get worse as I get more Ulduar level items as well.  The trick with raid gear is that it’s expensive to repair, and progression raiding doesn’t pay dividends folks.

2. To be or not to be an alt tonight? – So, if I’m not doing dailies, what am I doing?  I really have no need to do Heroics (a side effect of the net worthlessness of Emblems of Heroism), and while dual-spec gear is nice I rarely have a use for it.  The answer, invariably, is playing a character who might actually use these things – such as my Death Knight, or starting a new one, such as my little druid.  Invariably this means spreading some of the wealth around, necessitating more time on Dailies.

3. Gear priority – It took me all of a few minutes to realize that it was going to be a long time before I got a weapon upgrade.  Why?  Because Axiom starts Ulduar on Wednesday Night, when I’m out playing Fading Suns, and Flame Leviathan is such a pushover (and an unavoidable necessity) that I’ve never actually fought him.  We’ll likely be rolling on hard modes before I even take a look at his loot and that means no sword for me.  So, when I go to set my loot priorities I have to make sure I’m actually looking at bosses that we’re fighting on nights I am going to be there.  A real trick sometimes when I’m forced to guess where we’ll be in progression from week to week.

4. Keeping it fun – One of the real challenges, when it comes to all of this, is keeping what I do fun.  Balancing all of these concerns can take some of the joy and relaxation out of playing.  I mean, don’t get me wrong, I’m having a blast right now with my progression raiding, but the fun stuff isn’t paying the bills.  Sometimes it can be a challenge to have that fun, knowing I am going to have to take a chunk out of my weekend to pay for it.  Fortunately, the Argent Tournament has injected some fresh blood in my options, but the shine is wearing off pretty quickly.  I’m trying to keep it new for as long as I can.

I guess all of this is just a reminder that even raiding part time require a certain amount of commitment outside of raid.  This isn’t something I didn’t know, but it is easy to underestimate how pre-Ulduar raids made this possible.  I mean, doing Naxxaramas practically paid for a week of raiding itself.  Getting back into the right mindset has been harder than expected; I suppose I am lucky that the raiding I get it so much fun.  It would be easy to see how someone would wash out under the same circumstances without that redeeming virtue.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I hear you.

I’m kind of in a similar situation but the opposite way round. Our raid days are Wednesday and Thursday and Thursday is my pub quiz day. So although I’ll probably get everything on FL’s loot table, I don’t know if I will ever see Yogg-Saron.

It can be frustrating but yeah, like you say, sometimes you have to just accept the time constraints, look at the big picture and say, “Well, am I having fun when I am in game or not?”

I dunno about you but I do think it’s cool that even on a reduced schedule my raid still let me MT when I’m there.

Comment by spinks

I’m definitely still having fun, I mean, progression raiding is the thing I enjoy most in the game (well, specifically the experiencing new content bit).

I’ve been fortunate enough to see most of the new stuff, even if I haven’t experienced it first hand. First night in I got to watch over Jov’s shoulder after all.

It’s just a little bit funny that I have to do this other (not really that fun) stuff in order to do what I really want.

Comment by Tarsus

I know how you feel man. My guild is always running some kind of raid, but I can make exactly none of them with my schedule. I pug all of my raids and have unfortunately not stepped foot into Ulduar.

Comment by Darraxus




Leave a Reply

