Tanking for Dummies


I miss my 4-Piece Tier 8 Bonus Already
September 9, 2009, 12:01 am
Filed under: Analysis, Gear | Tags: , , , ,

Monday night I lost my favorite bonus.

4-piece

If you’re unfamiliar with the awesomeness that is 20% reduction in Magic Damage let me assure you that it has probably been the most utilized set bonus I’ve ever experienced.  I only had it for a few weeks, but the capacity to live through huge magic hits (or to simply make my healer’s job easier) is pretty awesome.

Needless to say, despite the fact that I replaced my Conqueror’s Siegebreaker Greathelm, I’m still keeping it around for certain encounters.  This is hardly an exhaustive list, but let me run by a few “must haves”:

  • Ignis Trash.
  • Ignis (Rounding up Adds, or Ignis Himself)
  • Assembly of Iron (Particularly if going for Hard-mode)
  • Malygos
  • Sartharion 3D
  • Lord Jarraxus
  • Most of Heroic Nexus
  • Most of Heroic Occulus

I am sure I will find more uses as time goes on.  Of course, this will lead to situations where I will find myself saying “Crap!  I don’ t have my 4-piece bonus anymore!”   As I can’t remember a set bonus in the past having that kind of effect on me, I feel pretty sure that is an indication of something.

That something being this needs to be an innate part of the Shield Block ability.

This isn’t exactly something revolutionary.  Warriors have been clamoring for greater ability to reduce magical damage ever since Death Knights and their Anti-Magic abilities proved how useful they are.  In addition, this seems to me like it should be an easily implementable, as it already exists as an option for Warriors in the first place.

Perhaps this is wishful thinking about a subject I’ve mused upon before.  I don’t exactly have a stellar record of compelling Blizzard to buff my favorite class.  But seriously, is this so much to ask?  I’d give up Spell Reflect for it in a heartbeat.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

*sobs* and I still didn’t get lucky with the fourth drop. I know exactly what you mean, though – would hate to loose that ability forever.

Would I be willing to trade my spell reflect in for it, though? Probably not. My defensive stance already reduces spell damage taken by 6% (I think) – a permanent buff would be nice, but would only have the same effect as giving warriors generally more health.

Now if my spell reflect actually worked as advertised – that would be nice. I wouldn’t mind reflecting Jar’s Fel Fireball back in his face for loads of damage. It’s so horrible to have a nice ability and then have it unusable for most bosses (but I suppose mages say the same about spellsteal).

Comment by Koch (Aszune)

I just have not found enough use for Spell Reflect. I think the only fights that I use it on are Mimiron (if for some reason we don’t have a warlock tank) and Faction Champions. I suppose it must be useful in PvP… but I don’t do PvP so it’s kinda moot.

Comment by Tarsus




Leave a Reply

